Joe Biden Announces US Presidential Delegation For Tinubu’s Inauguration

US President, Joe Biden (credit: BBC)

The United States of America President, Joe Biden, has announced the Presidential Delegation that will be gracing the inauguration of president-elect, Bola Ahmed Tinubu, on May 29, 2023. 

According to the statement released on the White House website, Honorable Marcia L. Fudge, Secretary of the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development, will lead the delegation. 

Other members of the Presidential Delegation include David Greene, Chargé d’Affaires, a.i., U.S. Embassy Abuja., the Honorable Sydney Kamlager-Dove, United States Representative (D), California, the Honorable Marisa Lago, Under Secretary of Commerce for International Trade, U.S. Department of Commerce, General Michael E. Langley, Commander of U.S. Africa Command.

Others include the Honorable Enoh T. Ebong, Director, U.S. Trade and Development Agency, Honorable Mary Catherine Phee, Assistant Secretary of State for the Bureau of African Affairs, U.S. Department of State. Honorable Judd Devermont, Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director for African Affairs, National Security Council and Honorable Monde Muyangwa, Assistant Administrator for the Bureau for Africa, U.S. Agency for International Development.

Recall that on Wednesday, March 1, 2023, the chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, (INEC),  Mahmood Yakubu announced Bola Tinubu, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC),  as winner of the 2023 presidential election.

Tinubu polled 8,794,726 votes to defeat fellow contenders – Atiku Abubakar of the opposition People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 6,984,520 votes, Labour Party’s Peter Obi had 6,101,533 votes to come third and candidate of the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) Rabiu Kwankwaso with 1,496,687 votes.

Following the declaration of Tinubu’s victory by INEC, three opposition parties including PDP and Labour party filed petitions challenging Tinubu’s victory on the February 25, Presidential elections. The opposition parties filed on the grounds of alleged substantial non-compliance with the electoral laws as well as the INEC guidelines, and widespread irregularities.

Tinubu’s controversial win has roped the APC into frequent trips to the electoral petition tribunal, Abuja. The opposition parties are challenging his win and not giving up yet on their quest to reclaim the Presidency.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


To Top